top of page
  • Writer's pictureCathi

My New Crush



I won’t leave you in suspense! My new crush is Jay Leno. What? Yes, it’s true. I have almost never watched the Jay Leno show. I was aware that he was humorous, but I never enjoyed “topical” late night shows (and still do not). Jeff and I got dialed in to the Late, Late Show with Craig Ferguson and I enjoyed that until the last shows. But I may have only watched Leno a half a dozen times.

So, what is happening now? I’ve found the TV show called Jay Leno’s Garage. I don’t know how many people reading this blog realize that I love cars. My first “love” was a Dodge Super Bee Six Pack. Cruising was a thing still on Lake City Way, and there was one that joined that lineup and I wanted it. The car was the “Sublime Green” version. My boyfriend at the time had a Corvair. Not a great car and no muscle car. In fact, those were rather good cars despite the notoriety.








My first joint ownership of a car was a red 1975 Pontiac TransAm Firebird. Oh, that was a great car, but my ownership stake was small and my then “fiancé” traded it in for an equally great, and red, Chevrolet Silverado pickup with a 454 four-barrel engine that zoom, zoomed. Not as stylish but it could fly, and we drove everywhere in it. Since we were in Virginia, we could cross many state lines in an evening’s drive.

Funny that when I got my own, really mine, car, it was a Datsun. From that to a Colt, and so forth until now I have a Toyota Rav4. Nothing race-worthy, nothing sleek, nothing to get me in trouble because I like to drive fast.

At one time, I wanted to be the first female “rail” drag racer. I was plotting my future when Shirley Muldowney beat me to it because she was 14 years older and could get there first. After that, it was no fun because I wouldn’t be first, and I didn’t want to really have a life as a race driver. Hot, hard work!

Meanwhile, I’ve enjoyed car fantasies through showrooms (I sat in a Lotus once – couldn’t see out of it), Show and Shine display (there is a great one each year in Auburn), and perhaps one of the best reasons to go to Reno is to see the Harrah’s Car Museum which I have been to. The America’s Car Museum in Tacoma is worth at least one visit, although I will return for more visits, I’m sure. The basis of that museum is the LeMay collection and the LeMay family museum is an unforgettable collection of cars that are placed in a way that makes you think of a giant’s Matchbook Car collection. It’s over 12,000 vehicles!

So, here we are in pandemic times and everyone hunts for something new on TV, right? On CNBC I find this Jay Leno’s Garage and what is it? It’s about cars ✓. It’s humorous ✓. I learn things about the cars, and history, and people ✓. Jay Leno is sweet, personable, funny, interesting, and knowledgeable about the cars he owns (only in the hundreds), histories of the past, present, and future, and takes himself, his friends, and his viewers on adventures that are the things dreams are made of ✓. 3D printed cars to Model T’s and Stanley Steamers, sexy, racy, sleek, and dangerous cars, these odd mini cars, amazing bespoke creations, fast cars, slow cars, and cars from all over the world ✓. He introduces us to car enthusiasts – let’s be honest, fanatics – of all types and they share their passions too ✓. I’m besotted and bemused, bewitched and bewildered, and wish I could meet him to tell him what excitement he has added to the fabric of my pandemic experience.

I would like my next vehicle to be a Rivian. I think I’d get the pickup but the Bronco-looking version is probably more appropriate since I’m keeping my diesel work-horse. Check it out: https://rivian.com/ and then go check out my new heart throb. The shows are free to watch on Peacock, NBC’s new streaming platform. Watch out, though, you might get hooked! https://www.cnbc.com/jay-lenos-garage/




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page