top of page
  • Writer's pictureCathi

Writing and reading and reading and writing

I read parts of a book that comprises interviews with writers where the questions are about what they read. It did not capture my attention because I haven't read most of the writers so the context of what they read isn't truely relevant. I am, however, copying out the lists of books in case I want to be similarly influenced. Which brings me to this snippet. I am reading a book where the story is interesting, but the writing style is captivating. It is much as I envision my book. You know, the one that I want to write but cannot find a story.


Each chapter begins with a quotation relevant to the subject of the chapter. It is a common device and one that generally shows the research associated with the writing. Or does it, I wonder? Do authors capture and gather great ideas while they are reading? I have not done that as I enjoy reading without studying. So, I am going to reread at least two dozen books to capture my headings. I wanted to ask the author, how they assembled and chose theirs.


Then there is the flow of information that resonates with me so viscerally. Did some research and found that one review called it a memoir-in-essays. Ah ha -- essays are me and that is why I feel connected to the style. Well, perhaps I am on the right track indeed. I do admire the stitching together of thoughts and "essays." Perhaps I'll look for an online class in outlining for writing. I had planned to consider (how wishy-washy is that) enrolling in a program such as Writing Studies at the University of Washington in Tacoma. My concern is that I do not need to go to college for the fourth time and maybe there is another way to tackle this desire. Despite all the options available in 2020, it was too much choice.


Then I skimmed this book about writers and what they read. Some of them discussed not wanting to be overly influenced by other writers and, therefore, not reading at all while writing. Others write so oddly that they are more likely to stand out against anything they read, and show little or no influence. Then there were those that admitted to absorbing bits of influence from the style of writing they admire and crafting it for themselves. I'm going with that one for now. After all, a book is just a figment until it isn't, and I can do anything I want in my daydreams. And I have only written one essay toward this fictional book (and I mean fictional in reference to the book existing, not that it will be fiction).


In case you want to read a fascinating book about renovating a house in Port Townsend, "House Lessons" by Erica Bauermeister is worth your time. I am going to purchase it in hardback and put it in my how-to-write books library (in all, three other books so far).






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page